Western Canadian Music Awards Announce 2016 Nominees

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 5, 2016

The 2016 instalment of the Western Canadian Music Awards takes place this fall as part the annual BreakOut West, and the complete list of nominees for this year's edition has been revealed.

Leading the way with three nominations each are Victoria singer-songwriter Aidan Knight and the duo of Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick. Following close behind with two nominations a piece are Brett Kissel, Corb Lund, David Morin, George Canyon, Le Destin du Jazz-Club!, Library Voices, We Are the City, William Prince and Yukon Blonde.

The winners will be decided by a jury in combination with votes from Music Industry Association members. Voting is open until May 17. 

The awards show will be hosted in Regina on October 13, kicking off BreakOut West with new concert-style format, putting more emphasis on music than speeches at Casino Regina. BreakOut West runs from October 13 to 16.

For now, see all the Western Canadian Music Awards nominees below. You can also see the industry nominees over here.
Aboriginal Artist of the Year:

David Morin (BC)
Digawolf (NT)
Don Amero (MB)
Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick (MB)
William Prince (MB)
Blues Artist of the Year:

David Gogo (BC)
David Vest (BC)
Debra Power (AB)
Harpdog Brown & The Travelin' Blues Show (BC)
Romi Mayes (MB)
BreakOut Artist of the Year:

Aidan Knight (BC)
Brett Kissel (AB)
Michael Bernard Fitzgerald (AB)
The Bros. Landreth (MB)
We Are The City (BC)
Children's Artist of the Year:

Bobs & LoLo (BC)
Hilary Grist (BC)
Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick (MB)
Raffi (BC)
The Kerplunks (BC)
Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year:

Couloir (AB)
Turning Point Ensemble and musica intima (BC)
Paolo Bortolussi (BC)
Roger Admiral (AB)
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (MB)
Classical Composition of the Year:

Benton Roark - Songs from the Rainshadow's Edge (BC)
Jason Cullimore - Along the King's Road (SK)
John Oliver - Birds of Paradise Lost (BC)
Howard Bashaw - 15 for Piano (AB)
Sid Robinovitch - Of Heart and Tide (MB)
Country Artist of the Year:

Bobby Wills (AB)
Brett Kissel (AB)
George Canyon (AB)
Jess Moskaluke (SK)
Keith and Renee (MB)
Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year:

Delhi 2 Dublin (BC)
Ghost Twin (MB)
Grey Saturn (BC)
Soulier (AB)
Francophone Artist of the Year:

Arnaud Granoux (BC)
Jocelyne Baribeau (MB)
Justin Lacroix Band (MB)
Le Destin du Jazz-Club! (BC)
Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick (MB)
Instrumental Artist of the Year:

Daniel Koulack (MB)
Don Alder (BC)
Hutchinson Andrew Trio (AB)
Michael Kaeshammer (BC)
Pugs and Crows (BC)

Jazz Artist of the Year:

Al Muirhead (AB)
Chris Gestrin & Bernie Arai (BC)
Curtis Nowosad Quintet (MB)
Jaclyn Guillou (BC)
Le Destin du Jazz-Club! (BC)
Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year:

KEN mode (MB)
Shooting Guns (SK)
Striker (AB)
Third Ion (SK)
Van Halst (AB)
Pop Artist of the Year:

Bryan Finlay (AB)
Derrival (BC)
JP Hoe (MB)
Lexi Strate (AB)
We Are The City (BC)
Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year:

Alpha Omega (BC)
Arlo Maverick (AB)
Evil Ebenezer (BC)
Snak The Ripper (BC)
SonReal (BC)
Recording of the Year:

Aidan Knight - Each Other (BC)
Jordan Klassen - Javelin (BC)
Library Voices - Lovish (SK)
Pharis and Jason Romero - A Wanderer I'll Stay (BC)
Yukon Blonde - On Blonde (BC)
Rock Artist of the Year:

Aidan Knight (BC)
Rae Spoon (BC)
The Sheepdogs (SK)
The Wet Secrets (AB)
Yukon Blonde (BC)
Roots Duo/Group of the Year:

Crooked Brothers (MB)
Jon and Roy (BC)
Northern Beauties (AB)
Rosie & The Riveters (SK)
Sweet Alibi (MB)
Roots Solo Artist of the Year:

Corb Lund (AB)
Frazey Ford (BC)
Matt Patershuk (AB)
Oliver Swain (BC)
William Prince (MB)

Producer of the Year:

Brad Prosko / Brad Prosko Production - Poor Nameless Boy 'Bravery,' 
Chris Henderson 'Craves the Chaos,' Government Town 'GTIII'
Dana "Rusty" Matyas - Federal Lights 'Coeur De Lion' (MB)
Library Voices - Library Voices 'Lovish' (SK)
Spencer Cheyne / The Mixing Station - Maddison Krebs 'Bullseye' (AB)
Colin Stewart / Hive Studios - Yukon Blonde 'On Blonde' (BC)
Songwriter(s) of the Year:

Corb Lund - "S Lazy H" from Things That Can't Be Undone (AB)
George Canyon, Terry McBride, Brice Long - "Lifetime" from I Got This (AB)
Kacy Anderson and Clayton Linthicum - "Brunswick Stew" from Strange Country (SK)
Megan Nash - "Deer Head" from Song Harvest: Volume One (SK)
Pharis Romero - "A Wanderer I'll Stay" from A Wanderer I'll Stay (BC)
Spiritual Artist of the Year:

Marika (BC)
Mike R Schuster (AB)
Samanvaya Kirtan (SK)
Tim Neufeld (BC)
Yvonne St. Germaine (SK)
Urban Artist of the Year:

Coco Jafro (BC)
David Morin (BC)
Ghost (BC)
Kristie McCracken (BC)
The New Groovement (BC)
World Artist of the Year:

Buckman Coe (BC)
Mazacote (BC)
Tasman Jude (AB)
Locarno (BC)
Young Medicine (AB)
Video Director of the Year:
Ft. Langley - Aidan Knight "All Clear" (BC)
Wade Tompkins - Arlo Maverick "More" (AB)
Stephano Barberis / The Field - Chad Brownlee "Hearts On Fire" (BC)
David Tenniswood / Scopitone Films - Jess Moskaluke "Kiss Me Quiet" (SK)
Steve Bays - Limblifter "Hotel Knife" (SK)
Visual Media Composer of the Year:
Alec Harrison - 2014 FIFA World Cup Open (ESPN) (AB)
Factor Eight (SK)
Graham Epp - FM Youth (MB)
Mike Twining and Andrew Twining - Gigantique Music Boutique (BC)
Russell Broom - Sitting on the Edge of Marlene, Whatever Happened To, Makeover Wish, Canada Heritage Minutes, Alberta Primetime, A&E Biography, Celebrity Style Storie (AB)

Latest Coverage