Villagers Return with {Awayland}

Villagers Return with {Awayland}
Despite contributing a new tune to the Smuggler's Way zine-comp for this past spring's Record Store Day, and a split single with Charlotte Gainsbourg the previous year, it's been over two years since Irish indie-folk unit Villagers dropped their Mercury Prize-nominated debut disc, Becoming a Jackal. The act will finally follow up that full-length in January via their sophomore set {Awayland}.

The 11-track outing arrives January 14 in the UK via Domino, with a North American release date pending. The self-produced outing was tracked at Attica Audio in Donegal, Ireland, by bandleader Conor J. O'Brien and guitarist Tommy McLaughlin.

You can get an idea of hat to expect in the pastoral trailer down below, which features snatches of the band's softened tunes, as well as a cinematic pan of an Irish field range.

"My fellow bandmates make the songs sound as beautiful as they could possibly be. It's a diverse album. It takes you on a trip through a musical landscape, as a tribute to your sense of wonder," O'Brien said in a statement, adding that this is a more "vibrant" record than their debut. "It travels through space and time and leaves you back for dinner. It might take a few gobbles. Maybe try it on headphones first, without interruption. I hope you enjoy."

In addition to standard CD, vinyl and digital releases, {Awayland} will come as a limited-edition CD/DVD package with a "10" x 10" fabric cover hardback book with silver foil print." The DVD will contain exclusive live footage of the band playing in Ireland.


1. My Lighthouse
2. Earthly Pleasure
3. The Waves
4. Judgement Call
5. Nothing Arrived
6. The Bell
7. {Awayland}
8. Passing a Message
9. Grateful Song
10. In a Newfound Land You Are Free
11. Rhythm Composer