Twin River Return for Some 'Passing Shade' on New Album

Twin River Return for Some 'Passing Shade' on New Album
Just a year removed from the release of dream-pop quintet Twin River's debut LP, Should the Light Go Out, the band have announced their sophomore follow-up. Titled Passing Shade, the record casts itself through speakers on June 17 via Light Organ Records.

The 10-song release was crafted with singer/guitarist Courtney Ewan housed in Montreal and creative partner and co-founder Andy Bishop out in Vancouver. Apparently, the songs had started off as "heartbroken, stripped-down ballads about lost love" before the full band bumped up the bpms.

"I always write on an acoustic guitar, which I think is the vestigial influence of being 15 and playing acoustic guitar in the basement because my mom wouldn't let me have an amp," Ewan said in a statement. "Nine times out of ten, when we get the band together, we end up increasing the tempo."

The record was tracked with producer Colin Stewart (the New Pornographers, Dan Mangan) during winter and summer sessions at his Hive studio on Vancouver Island. The set is said to deliver both "peppy pop catchiness" and "synth-infused darkness," while breakup number "Known to Run" apparently dabbles in the folk-styled approach Twin River had experimented with on their 2012 debut EP, Rough Gold.

Twin River are currently previewing their upcoming album release with a video for its "Antony." You'll find the video, as well as Passing Shade's tracklisting and info on a pair of SXSW appearance, down below.

Passing Shade:

1. Hesperus
2. Antony
3. Knife
4. Baby
5. Known To Run
6. Settle Down
7. Natural State
8. I Don't Want To Be Alone
9. Brooklyn Bowl
10. North

Tour dates:

03/18 Austin, TX - Friends Bar (Music BC showcase @ SXSW)
03/19 Austin, TX - Friends Bat (Halifax Pop Explosion showcase @ SXSW)