Toronto's Shirley Hurt Announces Self-Titled Debut Album, Shares "Problem Child"

BY Kaelen BellPublished Oct 3, 2022

Shirley Hurt — the new project from Toronto's Sophia Katz — has announced her self-titled debut album. Arriving on December 2 via Telephone Explosion Records, the album is preceded by lovely new single "Problem Child," which comes attached to an Eli Spiegel-directed video. 

The sweet, tender video for "Problem Child" stars Katz's grandmother as she walks her grandchild through her pie-making process; the song itself is an air-tight piece of folk pop that recalls the alien warmth of Aldous Harding

About Shirley Hurt — which was recorded with saxophonist Joseph Shabason, bassist Chris Shannon, producer Nathan Vanderwielen, guitarist Harrison Forman, percussionist Jason Bhattacharya, violinist Jacques Mindreau and pianist Nick Durado — Katz said:

This album feels lonely and roadworn to me. The woman who wrote this was definitely in the winter of her life. The landscape feels blue and burnt orange. There is a wistfulness and longing, whether I like it or not.

Check out the video for "Problem Child" and check out the Shirley Hurt tracklist below. 

Shirley Hurt:

1. The Bells
2. Problem Child
3. Let Me Down Easy
4. All Looks the Same to Me
5. Empty Hands
6. Pendulum
7. Smile
8. Charioteer
9. Pulse

Pre-order Shirley Hurt.

Latest Coverage