​The Velvet Underground Plot 50th Anniversary Box Set

It features four studio albums, plus the lost '1969' LP and Nico's debut solo record
​The Velvet Underground Plot 50th Anniversary Box Set
In celebration of the Velvet Underground's 50th anniversary, the band's catalogue will be treated to an expansive LP box set early next year. Simply titled The Velvet Undergound, the 6-LP collection will arrive on February 23 via Verve Records/UMe.
The box set includes all four of the group's studio albums — The Velvet Underground and Nico (1967), White Light/White Heat (1968), The Velvet Underground (1969) and Loaded (1970) — as well as singer Nico's debut solo LP, Chelsea Girl (1967) and a Bill Levenson-helmed recreation of a "lost" album recorded between May and October of 1969.
The latter contains songs recorded in the aftermath of The Velvet Underground, and according to a press release, it helps "to tell the band's enigmatic story and shine a light on their creative restlessness and rapid evolution." Levenson compiled the album using an array of mixes from 1969 and 2014. This marks the first time that the record has been released on vinyl.
All of the albums in the set feature stereo mixes pressed to 180-gram black vinyl, complete with recreations of original album artwork. The box set also includes a 48-page booklet featuring old photos, lyrics and a new foreword written by founding member Maureen "Moe" Tucker.
The Velvet Underground will be limited to 1,000 copies worldwide. View the complete tracklisting and pre-order copies here.