The Luyas Announce 'Human Voicing' LP

The Luyas Announce 'Human Voicing' LP
Wasting no time in following up last year's Says You EP, the Luyas have lifted the curtain on details behind a new full-length. Titled Human Voicing, the record will arrive next month through Paper Bag Records.

Running eight tracks in length, Human Voicing was recorded at Montreal's Breakglass Studios with "nothing but the loosest of outlines and a few skeletal sketches," creating what a press release calls "a leap of faith taken together by all six musicians." Like Says You, the effort was produced and mixed by Besnard Lakes' Jace Lacek.

Along with the record announcement, the band have shared "Self-Unemployed" as a taste of what's to come. Vocalist Jessie Stein had this to say about the song in conversation with Noisey:

The song itself is a jumble of images and things I wrote down.  My favourite choreographer, Katie Ward, did a piece last year called "Infinity Doughnut," which was a total mindblower. She had all the dancers doing repetitive movements that seemed banal at first but came together to make this wonderful lifeworld. Some kind of sense emerged out of the mess of repeated randomness. It felt like walking down a busy street. I wanted to make a song like that, so lyrically it's collage -—a mix of jokes, judgments, signs I read, stuff I overheard. Musically, it's improv we made up the day we recorded it. Everyone doing their little movement over and over to make a thing.

Human Voicing will arrive February 24 through Paper Bag. Read through the record's tracklisting to hear "Self-Unemployed" in the player below.

Human Voicing:

1. Dream In Time
2. Self-Unemployed
3. Dream Of Love 
4. Beating Bowser
5. All Of Everything 
6. No Domination
7. Fed To The Lions
8. Never Before