The Ophelias Announce 'Ribbon' EP, Share New Song

The follow-up to 2021's 'Crocus' arrives in April

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 26, 2024

The Ophelias — frontperson Spencer Peppet, drummer Mic Adams, violinist Andrea Gutmann Fuentes and bassist Jo Shaffer — have announced their new Ribbon EP, which is arriving April 12.

Alongside the announcement, the New York by Cincinnati band have also shared the video for lead single and quasi-title track “Black Ribbon.” The song is described as exploring “the newness of a queer relationship” over swelling, verging-on-baroque instrumentation. “Some kind of desire / That I cannot categorize / You are a Springsteen song / Dark sky in overdrive into the warm night,” Peppet sings.

The accompanying video was directed by Shaffer and Peppet and is heavy on fuzzed-out, Midwestern vignettes. Check out the video, plus the Ribbon EP tracklist, below.

Ribbon EP:

1. Black Ribbon
2. Soft and Tame
3. Upper Hand
4. Dust
5. Rind

Latest Coverage