Telefon Tel Aviv Sign with BPitch Control, Tour North America

Telefon Tel Aviv Sign with BPitch Control, Tour North America
Chicago by way of New Orleans duo Telefon Tel Aviv have been refining their brand of experimental electronic music for nearly ten years. Still, they’ve had a modest output, with only two official full-lengths and a handful of singles and remixes. Fortunately, the duo have announced that they’ve signed with BPitch Control and will be releasing their third LP, Immolate Yourself, on January 20.

Leading up to the release, the duo will join Matthew Dear on some North American dates, including stops in Montreal and Toronto in the middle of October.

In the press release, the band wrote an extensive piece describing the process on how they arrived at their new record. While they have ditched guitars, they believe that "the record is still entirely Telefon Tel Aviv, but through a cross-processed filter: saturated, grainy, distorted, dusty, distressed. The whole idea of modern sounds in an outdated setting became the sonic focal point of the whole record, and almost instinctually so. Our meters were buried throughout the most reactionary and speedy mixdown of either of our careers. To use a hackneyed axiom as our own, we weren't thinking — we were feeling. But it was in the dark without a torch, and running full speed for the nearest wall or the deepest unseen precipice.”

Telefon Tel Aviv with Matthew Dear:

10/8 Seattle, WA - Chop Suey
10/9 Portland, OR - Holocene
10/10 San Francisco, CA - Mighty
10/11 Los Angeles, CA - Avalon
10/15 Montreal, QC - Club Lambi
10/16 Toronto, ON - Wrong Bar
10/18 Ann Arbor, MI - The Blind Pig

Immolate Yourself tracklisting:

1. "The Birds”
2. "Your Mouth”
3. "M”
4. "Helen of Troy”
5. "Mostly Translucent”
6. "Stay Away From Being Maybe”
7. "I Made A Tree On The Wold”
8. "Your Every Idol”
9. "You Are The Worst Thing In The World”
10. "Immolate Yourself”

Telefon Tel Aviv "What is it without the hand…”