Swan Lake Ready New Album

Swan Lake Ready New Album
Following word last year that a new Swan Lake album was imminent, the BC super trio have finally ironed out all the details of their Beast Moans follow-up. On March 24, the project run by Destroyer's Dan Bejar, Carey Mercer of Frog Eyes and Spencer Krug of Wolf Parade/Sunset Rubdown will release their sophomore effort titled Enemy Mine, courtesy of Jagjaguwar. And, yes, the title Enemy Mine does indeed refer to the mid-'80s sci-fi flick.

The album was recorded in Victoria, BC, early in 2008 and comes boasting nine new collaborative efforts. According to the press release: "While their debut album was a beautifully weaved mash-up of their disparate songwriting styles, often with layer upon layer of various melodies and stylistics thrown into a collaborative cauldron to magical and, at times, discordant effect, their second album, Enemy Mine, reflects a more stripped-down, deliberate approach to collaboration." Or to quote Krug directly, "There's architecture here."

Apparently, the band had originally titled the album Before the Law, a reference to Kafka and the lovely court painting that serves as the album cover, but the band was tired of being pegged as "literally," the release says. As a result, we get the Enemy Mine title, which as far as we can tell doesn't mean the LP is a concept album about Dennis Quaid falling in love with an alien.

There are no tour dates currently planned for Swan Lake but they have revealed the Enemy Mine tracklisting. Here it is:

1. "Spanish Gold, 2044"
2. "Paper Lace"
3. "Heartswarm"
4. "Settle On Your Skin"
5. "Ballad Of A Swan Lake, Or, Daniel's Song"
6. "Peace"
7. "Spider"
8. "A Hand At Dusk"
9. "Warlock Psychologist"

Swan Lake "All Fires"