Still Corners Announce Sophomore Album 'Strange Pleasures'

Still Corners Announce Sophomore Album 'Strange Pleasures'
Following the 2011 release of London unit Still Corners's debut disc, Creatures of an Hour, the act have announced their sophomore follow-up. Titled Strange Pleasures, it drops May 7 via Sub Pop.

A press release notes that the core duo of songwriter/producer Greg Hughes and vocalist Tessa Murray have moved from the shoegazing tendencies of their debut towards "'80s-suffused song and studio craft." Reportedly, this means the album balances torch songs with influences like the Cocteau Twins, the Cure and Bernthøler.

"I think some of the above have probably been an influence — I'm a child of the '80s," Hughes said in a statement. "But I see it principally as a widescreen pop album, clear, with upfront vocals. It's a little epic, but not really retro-futuristic."

The album, which was recorded in Hughes' Greenwich studio, apparently also showcases in a shift in tone, with lyrics pushing the group into new, seemingly optimistic territory.

"Musically, Creatures was soft and relaxing but it was a massively cathartic record for me. I was destroyed after being in a relationship; it's all in there, suicide… all that stuff," Hughes noted, adding, "I needed to calm my soul and Creatures did that for me. Strange Pleasures is more of an adventure out toward the open seas. It's an exploring type of record: strange new lands, strange new love."

You can download first single "Berlin Lovers" in the widget down below for the price of an email address.

Strange Pleasures:

1. The Trip
2. Beginning to Blue
3. I Can't Sleep
4. All I Know
5. Fireflies
6. Berlin Lovers
7. Future Age
8. Going Back to Strange
9. Beatcity
10. Midnight Drive
11. We Killed the Moonlight
12. Strange Pleasures