Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin Unveil 'The High Country' LP

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin Unveil 'The High Country' LP
Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin lost longtime member John Robert Cardwell for the making of 2013's Fly by Wire, and now the reconfigured group are continuing to press ahead. Their latest album is called The High Country, and it will be out on June 2 through Polyvinyl Records.

The album was recorded at Seattle's Hall of Justice with engineer Beau Sorenson (Superchunk, Garbage). Although studio owner Chris Walla (formerly of Death Cab for Cutie) didn't contribute officially, he apparently dropped in a few times to give feedback.

The band recorded the album as a trio consisting of singer-guitarist Phil Dickey, guitarist Will Knauer and bassist Tom Hembree.

"We've always cranked our amps up in practice and at shows, but we always kept it off our records," Dickey said in a statement. "This time we wanted to go beyond our mid-tempo tendencies and make something really satisfying."

A press release describes the results as "A raw pop record infused with undeniable hooks, distortion pedals, passion, grit, and maybe a little insanity." As for the title, The High Country was apparently chosen simply because "the band members thought it sounded good."

To hear this sound, scroll past the tracklist below to hear the brisk, bubbly "Step Brother City."

The High Country can be pre-ordered in various formats right here. The vinyl is available on either white or clear red wax.

The High Country:

1. Line on You
2. Step Brother City
3. Goal Mind
4. Full Possession of All Her Powers
5. Madeline
6. What I Won
7. Trevor Forever
8. Foreign Future
9. Song Will
10. Magnet's New Summer 'Do
11. Total Meltdown