Skeletons Return with People Full-length

Skeletons Return with <i>People</i> Full-length
Following previous monikers Skeletons and the Girl-Faced Boys and Skeletons and the Kings of All Cities, as well as some standout releases on Ghostly International and Tomlab, Matt Mehlan's Skeletons will be returning with a new album this spring.

 This follow-up to 2008's free-jazz-loving Money is called People and was mixed with frequent Animal Collective producer Rusty Santos. A press release explains that the release "brilliantly boils down all the band's thrilling sonic excursions into a collection of concise, fluid and emotive songs: rich, subtly dramatic musical atmospheres envelope Matt Mehlan's compelling lyrical tales, inhabited by unlikely real-life characters (Jimmy Damour, Tania Head, Lil' Rich and others) whose stories are told from a viewpoint which is both human and social/political."

People will be available on April 26 through Shinkoyo and Crammed Discs, with a special vinyl version on the way from Sockets Records. While pre-order information is forthcoming, album track "Grandma" can be downloaded here or streamed below.

According to the press release, you can also get set for a spring/summer tour around North America, Europe and Japan, as well as a collaboration with Deerhoof, Konono No. 1, Juana Molina, Kasai Allstars, and Wildbirds and Peacedrums on the Congotronics Vs. Rockers tour in July. 


1. "L'il Rich"

2. "Grandma"

3. "More Than the One Thing"

4. "Walmart and the Ghost of Jimmy Damour"

5. "No"

6. "Tania Head"

7. "Barack Obama Blues"

8. "People"