Silversun Pickups Announce 'The Singles Collection', Premiere New Song

Silversun Pickups Announce 'The Singles Collection', Premiere New Song
Proper plans for Los Angeles indie rock combo Silversun Pickups's next LP have yet to materialize, but the group will issue a best-of set this year to celebrate what's been done to date. Their aptly titled The Singles Collection drops February 25 through Dangerbird.

The career overview includes cuts from 2005's Carnavas, 2009's Swoon and 2012's Neck of the Woods, as well as a new tune called "Cannibal". You can stream the song's fuzzy bass tones, textured drum production and Brian Aubert's familiar vocals down below.

An interview with Rolling Stone had Aubert noting that while The Singles Collection is focused on the past, the release is more than just a simple nostalgic highlight reel to the band.

"We have a band amnesia that keeps us from looking at the past," he said. "It's not conscious, it's just how we operate. All these songs are just a part of our fabric and we perform them all often, which keeps them current. So we have modern memories attached to them as well as the historical ones."

A follow-up to Neck of the Woods, meanwhile, is apparently still in the pre-planning stages, with Aubert admitting that work on their fourth full-length has yet to begin.

"It's best for us to lay low and eventually build momentum organically," he said. "We'll start working on the next album when we all come to the conclusion that it's time. We never know when that'll be, but personally, I hope it's sooner than later. I have a lot of weird ideas that need to come out."

The Singles Collection:

1. Kissing Families
2. Lazy Eye
3. Well Thought Out Twinkles
4. Little Lover's So Polite
5. Panic Switch
6. Substitution
7. The Royal We
8. Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings)
9. The Pit
10. Dots And Dashes (Enough Already)
11. Cannibal