SBTRKT Announces 'Transitions' 12-inch Series

SBTRKT Announces 'Transitions' 12-inch Series
Masked electronic music mysterioso SBTRKT recently announced plans to issue a series of 12-inches ahead of his next LP, and he's now revealed that trio of mini-releases will be delivered under the Transitions banner.

A press release confirms that three separate 12-inches are set to land this May via Young Turks, though an exact street date has yet to be determined. Six songs will be spread out across the six sides of the vinyl series, including last month's instrumental sneak preview "Hold the Line." You can also purchase the tracks digitally now as either two-song releases, or in a six-track bundle here.

In a statement, SBTRKT explained of the series: "This is music written over the last year, whilst recording for my second album. Much of the music I released before my debut album was instrumental and I want to continue to share this side of the music I make."

On the packaging front, each record will feature new artwork and "2D Moiré animation" from A Hidden Place. According to the press sheet, the packaging creates "a unique visual effect" that "ties in beautifully" with a Transitions-themed website. While you may not yet have any of the records in hand, you can check out the dizzying web page and stream the songs over here.

While details of SBTRKT's forthcoming sophomore set have not arrived, it will act as the proper follow-up to his 2011 self-titled debut.

Transitions I:

1. Gamalena
2. Hold the Line

Transitions II:

1. Kyoto
2. Resolute

Transitions III:

1. Highs + Lows
2. Stifif