Roll the Dice Return with 'Until Silence'

Roll the Dice Return with 'Until Silence'
Three years after issuing their Exclaim!-favourited In Dust, Swedish electronic duo Roll the Dice are ready to be heard again, via the release of their third full-length effort, Until Silence. The album arrives June 2 via the Leaf Label.

According to a press release, musical partners Peder Mannerfelt and Malcolm Pardon's latest long-player beefs up their template of piano and synthesizer sounds, with the act enlisting orchestral arranger Erik Arvinder (Childish Gambino, Robyn) to lead a 26-piece string ensemble to accompany their own contributions. The effect apparently balances the album's "sub-bass throbs" against gentler moments.

"We wanted to push the music to extremes," Mannerfelt said in a statement. "To make it both harder and darker, but more romantic and emotional at the same time."

He continues: "It's the push and pull of being in the middle of something massive, chaotic and brutal, mixed with feelings of loss and total resignation. We wanted to try and portray something like a single human being's very personal experiences within something of epic and devastating proportions."

Proper samples from the 10-song set have yet to arrive, but a cinematic and brooding teaser featuring a gravelly voiceover talking about turmoil has been let loose. You can check that out beneath the tracklisting.

Until Silence:

1. Blood In Blood Out

2. Assembly

3. Time and Mercy

4. Coup de Grâce

5. Aridity

6. Wherever I Go, Darkness Follows

7. Perpetual Motion

8. Someone's Land

9. Haunted Piano

10. In Deference