Robyn Hitchcock Declares 'Love for London' on New Album

Robyn Hitchcock Declares 'Love for London' on New Album
Prolific jangle-popper Robyn Hitchcock celebrates the big 6-0 in 2013, and will deliver yet another LP around the occasion. This one's called Love for London, and it drops through Yep Roc on March 5, just two days after his birthday.

A press release for the 10-song set notes that it was produced and engineered by Paul Noble, who also contributed bass, guitar, keyboards and vocals to the recordings. Other guest musicians include Jenny Adejayan on cello and vocals; Lizzie Anstey on vocals and keyboards and Jenny Macro, Lucy Parnell and Anne Lise Frokedal on vocals.

In a statement, Hitchcock describes the new songs as "paintings you can listen to," and added that the collection "celebrates life in a culture imperiled by economic and environmental collapse."

"We are surfing on the momentum of chaos," he continued. "If a consensus on global warming comes from the people, then the media, the politicians, and the corporations will have to adapt to it. Rock and Roll is an old man's game now, so I'm staying in it."

While studio samples have yet to arrive, down below you'll find Hitchcock and a crew of buddies, including Scritti Politti's Green Gartside, jamming on folkish new number "Be Still" from the comfort of an English pub.

Love for London:

1. Harry's Song
2. Be Still
3. Stupefied
4. I Love You
5. Devil On a String
6. Strawberries Dress
7. Death and Love
8. Fix You
9. My Rain
10. End of Time