Rhino To Release Factory Records Box Set

Rhino To Release Factory Records Box Set
Thirty years after Factory Records first opened its doors in 1978, the seminal Manchester label is getting a commemorative four-disc box set. Courtesy of the reissuing minds of Rhino, the sprawling 30th anniversary tribute set will come bearing the appealingly literal title A Factory Box Set and feature over 60 tracks by some of Factory’s finest, as well as some of its criminally ignored.

With art by famed sleeve designer Peter Saville, A Factory Box Set covers most of Factory’s most essential bases and includes work by some of the label’s best-known stalwarts, such as Joy Division, New Order, the Happy Mondays, Section 25, the Durutti Column and A Certain Ratio, as well as tracks by lesser-known but equally great outfits like the Wake, Tunnel Vision, Crispy Ambulance and Stockholm Monsters, among several others.

According to Amazon UK, A Factory Box Set is due out December 8, but at this point there’s no word on when or even if it will come out in North America.

However, there is a confirmed tracklisting. Here it is:

Disc One:

1. Joy Division "Digital”
2. Cabaret Voltaire "Baader Meinhof”
3. A Certain Ratio "All Night Party”
4. OMD "Electricity” (Original version)
5. Joy Division "She's Lost Control”
6. The Distractions "Time Goes By So Slow”
7. Joy Division "Transmission”
8. The Durutti Column "Sketch For Summer”
9. XODus "English Black Boys”
10. Joy Division "Love Will Tear Us Apart”
11. A Certain Ratio "Shack Up”
12. Section 25 "Girls Don't Count”
13. Crawling Chaos "Sex Machine”
14. A Certain Ratio "Flight”
15. The Names "Night Shift”
16. New Order "Ceremony” (Original version)
17. Minny Pops "Dolphin's Spurt”
18. John Dowie "It's Hard To Be An Egg”
19. Crispy Ambulance "Deaf”
20. Section 25 "Dirty Disco”

Disc Two:

1. New Order "Everything's Gone Green”
2. Tunnel Vision "Watching The Hydroplanes”
3. The Durutti Column "Messidor”
4. A Certain Ratio "Knife Slits Water” (LP version)
5. Royal Family and the Poor "Art on 45”
6. Swamp Children "Taste What's Rhythm”
7. New Order "Temptation”
8. 52nd Street "Cool As Ice”
9. New Order "Blue Monday”
10. Cabaret Voltaire "Yashar” (John Robie Remix)
11. Quando Quango "Love Tempo”
12. The Wake "Talk About The Past”

Disc Three:

1. New Order "Confusion”
2. Marcel King "Reach For Love”
3. Section 25 "Looking from A Hilltop” (Restructure)
4. Stockholm Monsters "All At Once”
5. Life "Tell Me”
6. Durutti Column "A Little Mercy” (Duet)
7. James "Hymn From A Village”
8. Kalima "Trickery”
9. A Certain Ratio "Sounds Like Something Dirty”
10. Quando Quango "Genius”
11. Happy Mondays "Freaky Dancin'”
12. Miaow "When It All Comes Down”
13. The Railway Children "Brighter”
14. Biting Tongues "Compressor”
15. New Order "True Faith”
16. Happy Mondays "24 Hour Party People”

Disc Four:

1. New Order "Fine Time”
2. Happy Mondays "W.F.L. (Think About The Future)”
3. Revenge "Seven Reasons”
4. Happy Mondays "Hallelujah” (Club Mix)
5. Electronic "Getting Away With It”
6. Happy Mondays "Step On”
7. Northside "Shall We Take A Trip”
8. England & New Order "World In Motion” (Lionrock Remix)
9. Happy Mondays "Kinky Afro”
10. The Durutti Column "Home”
11. Electronic "Get The Message” (DNA Remix)
12. Northside "Take 5”
13. Cath Carroll "Moves Like You” (Remix)
14. The Other Two "Tasty Fish” (12" mix)
15. Happy Mondays "Sunshine and Love”

The Wake "Talk About The Past”