R.E.M. Announce Release Date and Tracklist for Double Live Album

R.E.M. Announce Release Date and Tracklist for Double Live Album
As we reported back in June, R.E.M. are planning the release of a double live album entitled Live at the Olympia. The band have now set the release date for October 26 via Warner Bros. and announced a 39-song tracklist for the double CD set.

The release is being produced by Jacknife Lee and captures a 2007 five-night stint at Dublin's Olympia Theatre, where the band debuted several new songs during each show in front of sellout crowds.

Many of the songs played were from Accelerate, R.E.M's 14th studio album. However, the live sets also featured a wide range of the band's earlier material, including rarely played songs off of Murmur, Reckoning, Fables of the Reconstruction, Life's Rich Pageant and Document.

A special edition of the release will also add a DVD directed by the team of Vincent Moon and Jeremiah, who have worked with the band many times. The DVD will feature 20 songs from the Olympia sets and some extra, behind-the-scenes footage. A tracklisting for the DVD is still being sorted out.

Running updates on R.E.M.'s Live at the Olympia double CD release are available on the album newly launched micro-site here.

Live at the Olympia:

1. "Living Well Is the Best Revenge"

2. "Second Guessing"

3. "Letter Never Sent"

4. "Staring Down the Barrel of the Middle Distance"

5. "Disturbance at the Heron House"

6. "Mr. Richards"

7. "Houston"

8. "New Test Leper"

9. "Cuyahoga"

10. "Electrolite"

11. "Man-Sized Wreath"

12. "So. Central Rain"

13. "On the Fly"

14. "Maps and Legends"

15. "Sitting Still"

16. "Driver 8"

17. "Horse to Water"

18. "I'm Gonna DJ"

19. "Circus Envy"

20. "These Days"

21. "Drive"

22. "Feeling Gravity's Pull"

23. "Until the Day Is Done"

24. "Accelerate"

25. "Auctioneer"

26. "Little America"

27. "1,000,000"

28. "Disguised"

29. "The Worst Joke Ever"

30. "Welcome to the Occupation"

31. "Carnival of Sorts"

32. "Harborcoat"

33. "Wolves, Lower"

34. "I've Been High"

35. "Kohoutek"

36. "West of the Fields"

37. "Pretty Persuasion"

38. "Romance"

39. "Gardening at Night"