Red Hot Chili Peppers Treat 'Stadium Arcadium' to Vinyl Reissue

Red Hot Chili Peppers Treat 'Stadium Arcadium' to Vinyl Reissue
Though Red Hot Chili Peppers have yet to reveal more details behind their possibly Danger Mouse-produced LP, the longtime funk-punkers are going to give one of their most ambitious outings a fresh vinyl release. Their 2006 collection Stadium Arcadium is due to be brought back on wax on February 23 through Warner Bros.

As Modern Vinyl points out, listings for a four-LP box set have surfaced on retail sites Music Direct and SRC Vinyl, which note that the epic, 28-song tracklisting is being spread out across four slabs of vinyl. This had also been the case for the 2006 edition and a repress from 2012, but those editions are long out of print.

It's added that the upcoming reissue, dubbed the "Deluxe Art Edition," puts the music on 180-gram vinyl, comes packaged in a "rigid two-piece, rainbow foil wrapped box," and includes two 16-page booklets titled "Jupiter" and "Mars."

With the retail listings pricing this latest repress around $40 US, it may be high time for Chili fans to pre-order a copy. Currently, both the 2006 U.S. pressing and its 2012 counterpart are commanding price tags of about $400 US through Discogs.

Originally issued in 2006, Stadium Arcadium was the ninth full-length release from the Red Hot Chili Peppers and included singles "Dani California," "Snow (Hey Oh)," "Desecration Smile" and "Hump de Bump." The album was also the last to include guitarist John Frusciante, who exited the band in 2009, and was produced by Rick Rubin.

Frusciante's replacement, Josh Klinghoffer, played on the band's 2011 follow-up, I'm With You.

While drummer Chad Smith had given an update on the progress of their next LP in 2015, few details have been revealed beyond the fact that the band have "got lots of songs."

Stadium Arcadium:


1. Dani California
2. Snow (Hey Oh)
3. Charlie
4. Stadium Arcadium
5. Hump de Bump
6. She's Only 18
7. Slow Cheetah


1. Torture Me
2. Strip My Mind
3. Especially In Michigan
4. Warlocks
5. C'mon Girl
6. Wet Sand
7. Hey


1. Desecration Smile
2. Tell Me Baby
3. Hard to Concentrate
4. 21st Century
5. She Looks To Me
6. Readymade
7. If


1. Make You Feel Better
2. Animal Bar
3. So Much I
4. Storm In A Teacup
5. We Believe
6. Turn It Again
7. Death of a Martian