The Radio Dept. Announce North American Tour, Singles Comp

The Radio Dept. Announce North American Tour, Singles Comp
Despite recently telling Exclaim! that they likely won't make it to our continent due to a lack of proper financial support, Swedish indie pop darlings the Radio Dept. have revealed a world tour that will bring them to North American soil this spring. And the timing couldn't be better, as the band have announced an upcoming double-disc singles collection.

The tour has dates sporadically through November and December, including two shows in New York. Then, in 2011, they will spend February travelling the whole continent, making Canadian stops in Montreal on February 5 and Toronto on February 7. Perhaps a motivated Ottawa promoter should look into setting something up on February 6.

As for the singles comp, it is called Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002-2010. There's no firm release date for the record, but according to Pitchfork, it is due out early next year on Labrador Records.

Along with the comp, the Radio Dept. will follow up the excellent Clinging to a Scheme album with the dub-influenced Never Follow Suit EP. According to Labrador, the EP features "multi-layered soundscapes of panoramic delays, hypnotic bass lines, echo-ing analogue synthesizers and skanky guitar loops."

Never Follow Suit will be available on Tuesday (November 9). A pre-order is available here. The twelve-inch record will be limited to 1,000 copies.

Passive Aggressive: Singles 2002-2010:


1. "Why Won't You Talk About It?"

2. "Where Damage Isn't Already Done"

3. "Annie Laurie"

4. "Ewan"

5. "Pulling Our Weight"

6. "This Past Week"

7. "The Worst Taste in Music"

8. "We Made the Team"

9. "Bachelor Kisses"

10. "Freddie and the Trojan Horse"

11. "David"

12. "Heaven's on Fire"

13. "Never Follow Suit"

14. "The New Improved Hypocrisy"


1. "Liebling"

2. "We Would Fall Against the Tide"

3. "You and Me Then?"

4. "Peace of Mind"

5. "Tåget"

6. "Slottet"

7. "What You Sell"

8. "Mad About the Boy"

9. "Closing Scene"

10. "Messy Enough"

11. "The Idle Urban Contemporaries"

12. "All About Our Love"

13. "On Your Side"

14. "The One"

Never Follow Suit EP:

1. "The One"
2. "Never Follow Suit"
3. "Stay Off Route"
4. "On Your Side"
5. "Never Swallow Fruit Dub" (by Pistol Disco)

Tour dates:

11/27 Paris, France - Boulogne-Billancourt

11/30 Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory

12/1 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom

12/4 Stockholm, Sweden - Strand

12/5 London, England - Scala

12/15 Lund, Sweden - Mejeriet
12/16 Lund, Sweden - Mejeriet

2/1 Washington D.C. - Rock & Roll Hotel

2/2 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg

2/3 New York, NY - Webster Hall

2/4 Boston, MA - Middle East Downstairs

2/5 Montreal, QC - Petit Campus

2/7 Toronto, ON - Lee's Palace

2/8 Chicago, IL - Empty Bottle

2/9 Minneapolis, MN - 7th Street Entry

2/12 Seattle, WA - Crocodile Café

2/13 Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge

2/15 San Francisco, CA - The Independent

2/16 Los Angeles, CA - El Rey Theatre

2/19 Mexico City, Mexico - Teatro de la Ciudad