Radar Brothers Unveil 'Eight'

Radar Brothers Unveil 'Eight'
Long-running indie outfit Radar Brothers last left listeners with their 2010 LP The Illustrated Garden, but it's now been revealed that the L.A. crew get back into the swing of things early next year with the release of their next set, Eight.

A message from Merge Records confirms that the act's upcoming eighth album (see what they did there?) will arrive on LP and digitally January 29. A tracklisting hasn't yet been offered for the affair, but the press sheet proclaims this to be the band's "darkest, hardest-rocking, most psychedelic, and yet most intensely personal album to date."

On top of performances from vocalist/guitarist Jim Putnam, bassist Be Hussey and drummer Stevie Treichel, Eight features new members Dan Iead (the Broken West) on guitar/pedal steel, keyboardist Brian Cleary, and piano/synth player Ethan Walter.

As for the album art (see above), Putnam whipped up a cover that pays a visual nod to the jacket of Joni Mitchell's 1975 album The Hissing of Summer Lawns.

If you pre-order now, Merge will also send you a slipmat for your turntable and a poster.