St. Vincent / Baroness Producer John Congleton to Issue Solo Album

St. Vincent / Baroness Producer John Congleton to Issue Solo Album
Producer John Congleton's mind-bending resume includes work with a wide range of artists, including St. Vincent, Baroness, Modest Mouse, the Walkmen, Swans, the War on Drugs, Black Mountain, Chelsea Wolfe and many more. He'll next offer up some original material of his own, with the debut release from John Congleton and the Nighty Nite set to hit stores later this spring.

Fat Possum confirms that the Congleton-crafted Until the Horror Goes will be released via the imprint on April 1. The debut LP includes 10 new tunes from Congleton and the Nighty Nite, with titles including the fabulously punny "Animal Rites" and "A Tale Told by an Idiot."

Down below, you'll find a stream of first single "Until It Goes."

A statement about the album from Congleton reads:

to me the human condition (the water in which my music tends to swim) is in some ways the slow realization magic does not exist. the idealizations one has as a child are chipped away by the lubrication of life; we slowly discover there is no santa claus, no salvation as we were promised. until the horror goes is in some ways the musical manifestation of that screaming child rejecting the intimacy and connection for which it cries; the endless quest for the sublime uncovering only the inane. the feeling of aloneness in the universe while connecting with everyone else feeling alone and laughing at the simple irony we all feel alone together.

Prior to leading the Nighty Nite, Congleton had performed in Texas indie rock unit the Paper Chase. Formed in 1998, the band would issue material with Southern Records and Kill Rock Stars before calling it quits in 2010. Their back catalogue includes five full-lengths and a split with Xiu Xiu.

Until the Horror Goes:

1. Animal Rites
2. The White Powerless
3. Your Temporary Custodian
4. Just Lay Still
5. Canaries in the Coal Mine
6. Until It Goes
7. Put Your Teeth In
8. A Tale Told By an Idiot
9. Who Could Love You Lucille?
10. You Are Facing the Wrong Way