Post-Punk Synth Heroes Tuxedomoon Get Reissued via Superior Viaduct

Post-Punk Synth Heroes Tuxedomoon Get Reissued via Superior Viaduct
San Francisco imprint Superior Viaduct has been reissuing up a storm recently, having lined up re-releases of Devo's Hardcore compilations, Eduard Artemyev's Solaris soundtrack, and Sensations' Fix's prog/synth masterpiece Fragments of Light. Now, the label has announced plans to reissue a pair of EPs from U.S. post-punk pioneers Tuxedomoon.

Formed in 1977 by multi-instrumentalists Blaine Reininger and Steven Brown (then electronic music students at San Francisco's City College), the Bay Area outfit would go on to shape the face of avant-garde synth pop on-and-off for the next 30 years. Reuniting in 2007, the band released their latest album, Vapour Trails, in the same year, followed by a career-defining box set.

But Superior Viaduct will be starting at Tuxedomoon's very beginnings, re-releasing the band's first two EPs — the 1978 post-punk classic No Tears and 1979's Scream with a View — on 12-inch discs, with the first 200 copies being pressed on retro-futuristic clear vinyl.

Both records won't be released until December 10, but in the meantime, listen to a preview of both EPs by streaming the band's "No Tears" and "Where Interests Lie" below. You can pre-order both copies here.

No Tears:

1. New Machine
2. Litebulb Overkill
3. Nite & Day (Hommage À Cole Porter)
4. No Tears

Scream with a View:

1. Nervous Guy
2. Where Interests Lie
3. (Special Treatment For The) Family Man
4. Midnite Stroll