Polaris Music Prize Reveals 2018 Gala Performers and Grand Jury

Nominees Jeremy Dutcher, Hubert Lenoir, Partner, U.S. Girls and more will perform
Polaris Music Prize Reveals 2018 Gala Performers and Grand Jury
After lifting the curtain on the 10-album shortlist last month, organizers behind the Polaris Music Prize have confirmed the nominees slated to perform the night the award is handed out.

Eight of the 10 nominees are set to perform during the September 17 gala event at the Carlu in Toronto. The performers list includes Jean-Michel Blais, Jeremy Dutcher, Hubert Lenoir, Pierre Kwenders, Partner, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, U.S. Girls and Weaves.

In addition to the evening's entertainment, Polaris organizers have revealed the list of grand jurors set to take part in the decision-making this year. The panel includes Matt Carter (Grid City Magazine), J.D. Considine (freelance), Jill Krajewski (Noisey/VICE), Erin Lowers (Exclaim!), Dustin Riel McGladrey (Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta/CFWE FM), Marie Mello (freelance), Marc-André Mongrain (Sors-tu.ca / Radio-Canada), Anubha Momin (freelance), Josh O'Kane (Globe and Mail), Rosina Riccardo (CJAM) and Kate Wilson (Georgia Straight).

As previously reported, one artist from the group will be awarded the title of best Canadian album, in addition to a $50,000 cash prize, judged "solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales." The nine runners-up will each receive $3,000. 

Polaris Music Prize 2018 Short List:

Alvvays - Antisocialites
Jean-Michel Blais - Dans ma main
Daniel Caesar - Freudian
Jeremy Dutcher - Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa
Pierre Kwenders - MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time
Hubert Lenoir - Darlène
Partner - In Search Of Lost Time
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - The Average Savage
U.S. Girls - In A Poem Unlimited
Weaves - Wide Open