Polaris Music Prize Announces 2013 Short List

Polaris Music Prize Announces 2013 Short List
As has become annual tradition, the Polaris Music Prize recently rolled out its long list of 40 albums in the running to be named Canada's best LP of the past year. Now, that long list of nominees has been narrowed down to a short list of 10 finalists.

The short list was announced today (July 16) at the Drake Hotel in Toronto. The albums were chosen by a national jury consisting of journalists, bloggers and broadcasters, who each voted on the best albums released between June 2012 and May 2013, based on artistic merit alone.

The short list, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

A Tribe Called Red - Nation II Nation
Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim - Every Opposite
Metric - Synthetica
Purity Ring - Shrines
Colin Stetson - New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan and Sara - Heartthrob
Whitehorse - The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy - Ultramarine

The $30,000 grand prize winner from these 10 will be announced at a gala on September 23 at the Carlu in Toronto. This final decision will be made by a grand jury of 11, who are selected from the overall jury.

Past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (2006).