Phil Elverum Launches Microphones Vinyl Reissue Campaign

Phil Elverum Launches Microphones Vinyl Reissue Campaign
After dropping not one but two LPs in 2012, it's understandable that Mount Eerie's Phil Elverum would take a break from issuing new material. That doesn't mean the release schedule has slowed down, however. After recently giving us his lost film score for The Last Hit, Elverum has dug deep to reissue much of his discography as the Microphones on vinyl.

The release schedule kicks off with the first-ever vinyl pressing of 2002's odds'n'sods comp Song Islands, which will be a double LP release coming on March 5. The record, remastered by John Golden, includes a fold-out poster and a vellum obi strip, for all you vinyl nerds out there.

 Following that, 1999's Don't Wake Me Up will hit on April 16 and will include new mastering, a poster and some new pictures. Then, on May 28, the 2000 release It Was Hot, We Stayed in the Water will arrive and include new artwork.

Then, on July 9, Elverum will once again reissue the acclaimed 2001 classic The Glow, Pt. 2. However, this version doesn't have any of the added bonus material included in 2008 K Records reissue. Instead, it's a proper repress of the original 2001 version.

Naturally, the Microphones reissues will conclude the same way the project did, with a reissue of the 2003 concept album Mount Eerie (pictured above). Dropping on August 20, this one will include gatefold jackets with textured paper and supplementary art and lyrics.

For more information on the reissues, keep an eye P.W. Elverum & Sun.