The Pastels Reveal 'Slow Summits' Details

The Pastels Reveal 'Slow Summits' Details
The Pastels recently announced they were working on an LP called Slow Summits, their first proper full-length in over a decade, and the band's label Domino is reporting that the sessions are complete. You can expect the LP to hit North American retailers on May 28.

While the Pastels had done a soundtrack, some theatre work and other outside activities, this is the first album from the band since 1997's Illumination. The nine-song set was recorded in Glasgow by John McEntire (Tortoise, Sea & Cake) and Bal Cooke, and mixed in Chicago by McEntire.

Sound samples have yet to arrive in full, but a press release describes Slow Summits as a "flowing montage of autumn instrumentals, pop songs, slow motion build ups and suddenly optimistic melody lines." You can check out a trailer for the record down below.

The LP features the core sextet of Stephen McRobbie, Katrina Mitchell, Tom Crossley, Gerard Love, Alison Mitchell and John Hogarty, but also features a guest appearance from original member Annabel Wright. Showing up to help out on the sessions as well were Teenage Fanclub's Norman Blake, To Rococo Rot's Stefan Schneider and Ronald Lippok, past Pastels collaborators Tenniscoats and Scottish composer Craig Armstrong.

Slow Summits:

1. Secret Music
2. Night Time Made Us
3. Check My Heart
4. Summer Rain
5. After Image      
6. Kicking Leaves      
7. Wrong Light      
8. Slow Summits      
9. Come to the Dance