The Paint Movement Unveil New LP

The Paint Movement Unveil New LP
A few months ago, we praised Ontario rockers the Paint Movement for the sultry sax and thundering drums found on their single "Fortune's Window." Now, the band are getting ready to follow up 2009's Our Eurythmy with a self-titled full-length, due out August 16 via Nevado.

The album was produced and mixed by David Newfeld, the studio whiz who has worked with Broken Social Scene, Los Campesinos and Super Furry Animals. Sessions took place in a converted church in a small Ontario town. This meant long highway drives for the Toronto- and Mississauga, ON-based musicians, who recorded in short bursts of a few days at a time.

A press release describes the band's sound like this: "The six-piece band mixes elements of rock, pop and soul and melds them into unique songs which at times feature male vocals, at others female vocals, and a lot of the time you hear group chants."

Expect to hear more of that when The Paint Movement arrives on shelves. You can also catch the band live in the coming months, with more dates to be announced soon.

The Paint Movement:

1. "Young Lights"
2. "Embers"
3. "Fortune's Window"
4. "Curious City"
5. "Heart Lids"
6. "Caught In The Act"
7. "Is It True"
8. "Porcelains"
9. "Skip To The West"

Tour dates:

6/15 Toronto, ON - The Rivoli
6/16 Toronto, ON - Analogue Gallery
9/2 Mississauga, ON - Celebration Square *
9/9 Toronto, ON - The Horseshoe Tavern
9/17 Windsor, ON - The Phog
9/28 Guelph, ON - Vinyl

* with Born Ruffians