The Oscillation Prepares Rarities Compilation, Premieres "Braindrainer"

BY Alan RantaPublished Aug 7, 2015

Following three studio albums of psychedelic space-rock, and a live album on Cardinal Fuzz, the Oscillation has announced plans to release a new compilation. Called Beyond the Mirror: Rare and Unreleased Tracks, it will arrive on September 11, 2015.

Being put out through the band's own label, All Time Low Productions, the release collects a Record Store Day 2012 b-side, both of their contributions to the second installment in Hands in the Dark's Travel Expop series, four previously unreleased tracks, and a jam called "Braindrainer" that Exclaim! is pleased to share with you now. Hear it below.

The far out and funky instrumental "Braindrainer" first appeared on a vinyl-only EP called Fall. The fuzzy krautrock-tinged outfit led by guitarist and vocalist Demian Castellanos issued that EP in 2011, and it has long since been out of print. The track has a groovy dance-punk beat, with driving drums, a distorted bass line ever on the rise, and staccato guitar swagger, all awash in analog effects.

Check out the album's track listing and the stream of "Braindrainer" below.

Beyond The Mirror: Rare And Unreleased Tracks:

1. Braindrainer
2. Waste the Day
3. Kissing the Sun
4. The Mirror Pool *
5. Endless Oblivion *
6. Crystalline Tears *
7. Insect Attention
8. The Detour *

* previously unreleased

Latest Coverage