Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark Detail New 'English Electric' Album

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark Detail New 'English Electric' Album
Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark's 2010 album, History of Modern, was more than just a one-off, since the British synth-pop greats subsequently set to work on another collection. Now, they have officially announced English Electric, due out April 9.

The album was written, produced, recorded and mixed by core OMD members Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys. A press release calls it a "letter to technology, space, love and a grand return to form for a band," and the album features a song written with former Kraftwerk member Karl Bartos.

English Electric is named after an industrial manufacturing company and reportedly includes club-ready dance cuts, along with low-key ballads and three interlude tracks. Below, watch a short trailer for the track "Decimal," which shows some digital images accompanied by a computerized sonic doodle.

McCluskey said in a statement, "The overarching feel tends to be a sense of loss, of melancholia, that things haven't turned out the way you wanted them to, whether it be with technology or personal relationships."

The disc will be available on standard CD, as a deluxe edition (including a bonus DVD), on heavyweight vinyl, in a tin box set, and digitally.

The classic OMD lineup of Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes and Martin Cooper will hit the road this spring to celebrate their 35th anniversary. Expect tour dates to be announced soon. In the meantime, the tracklist for English Electric is below.

English Electric:

1. Please Remain Seated

2. Metroland

3. Night Café

4. The Future Will Be Silent

5. Helen of Troy

6. Our System

7. Kissing the Machine

8. Decimal

9. Stay with Me

10. Dresden

11. Atomic Ranch

12. Final Song