Neil Young to Release 1973 'Tuscaloosa' Live Album

Listen to "Don't Be Denied" from the upcoming record now
Neil Young to Release 1973 'Tuscaloosa' Live Album
Busy as ever, Neil Young is currently plotting a new Crazy Horse album and a handful of shows. That said, Young has also got plenty of time to look back, and he's done just that with another new live album.

On February 5, 1973, Young and the Stray Gators performed at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. They'll now collect highlights from that show on a new live album called simply Tuscaloosa.

Speaking with Rolling Stone about the release recently, Young offered the following statement:

It's [a concert] from the period right around Harvest and Tonight's the Night. For me, it's edgy. It's like those mellow songs with an edge. It's really trippy to be down in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and singing those songs from Harvest and the songs that we were doing for Time Fades Away before it came out. I found this thing and it had such a great attitude to it. I just loved the whole night, so I put that together with [engineer] John Hanlon. That will be our next album. Then we'll do the other one and the other ones after that. There's just so many that I keep changing my mind all the time. It's good. It's good to be able to change your mind. [Note: The February 5th, 1973, Tuscaloosa, Alabama show has never circulated in bootleg circles and fans have never even reconstructed the complete set list.]

Tuscaloosa will arrive on June 7 via Warner Bros. Records. You can stream the album's version of "Don't Be Denied" below.


1. Here We Are In The Years
2. After The Gold Rush
3. Out On The Weekend
4. Harvest 
5. Old Man 
6. Heart Of Gold
7. Time Fades Away 
8. Lookout Joe
9. New Mama 
10. Alabama
11. Don't Be Denied