Moonface Teams Up with Siinai for 'Heartbreaking Bravery' LP

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 10, 2012

Even before last year's Organ Music Not Vibraphone Like I'd Hoped was released, Moonface songwriter Spencer Krug announced that he would be working with Finnish Krautrock outfit Siinai. Sure enough, Moonface just announced that he will be releasing the collaboration under the title With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery on April 17 through Jagjaguwar.

The team-up began when Krug's band Wolf Parade toured with the group Joensuu 1685, whose members later formed the all-instrumental Siinai. According to a press release, "Krug asked if they wanted to make an album together, a collaboration wherein Siinai would perform the meat of the music, and Moonface would take care of the vocals (and ultimately a few licks on the keyboard)." After sending some demos overseas, Krug travelled to Finland in August of last year and the album was completed.

Heartbreaking Bravery reportedly blends Krug's fondness for pop melodies with Siinai's "ove for simplicity and their rare patience for music that slowly evolves." Krug's lyrics largely deal with theme of heartbreak, which is reflective of his own "recently battered, still mildly swollen heart."

Check out the ten-song tracklist below, and scroll past that to hear the triumphantly beat-heavy "Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips." The album cover is above.

In a comment on SoundCloud, Jagjaguwar wrote, "This is not a Wolf Parade side project -- this is now Spencer's primary music project. Wolf Parade is now over -- hop on the Moonface train." In other words, it looks like that indefinite hiatus is probably going to stick.

With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery:

1. "Heartbreaking Bravery"

2. "Yesterday's Fire"

3. "Shitty City"

4. "Quickfire, I Tried"

5. "I'm Not the Phoenix Yet"

6. "10,000 Scorpions"

7. "Faraway Lightning"

8. "Headed for the Door"

9. "Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips"

10. "Lay Your Cheek on Down"

Latest Coverage