Mirror Lake Announce Debut 12-inch 'The Last of the Summer Wine'

Mirror Lake Announce Debut 12-inch 'The Last of the Summer Wine'
Dark psych-folk outfit Mirror Lake only recently started gigging around their native Vancouver, but bandleader Bryce Janssens has been working on the project since 2010, so much so that the young group already have a 12-inch EP on the horizon. The West Coast act's debut offering, The Last of the Summer Wine, will be issued by the Storyboard Label on September 11.

A press release from the imprint explains that the music on the six-song set was first whipped up by Janssens in a friend's garage, but slowly he began entering the studio with a handful of collaborators to track the EP. The mini-effort is described as featuring a "beautiful and dynamic selection of songs burying deep undertones of psychedelia and dark, folk-tinged rock and roll."

You can check out the whole thing, from the Black Mountain-esque stoner stomp "You Can't Win" to the eerie and rustic wagon trail clinker "Old River," in the SoundCloud player down below.

Prior to the release, the group will embark on a quick trip out to Alberta with Black Mountain, and they have a Vancouver show coming with Moon Duo this December. You can check out the schedule down below.

The Last of the Summer Wine:

1. The Last of the Summer Wine
2. Echo Lake Mirror Lake
3. I'm on the Mile
4. Before Long
5. You Can't Win
6. Old River

Tour dates:

8/22 Calgary, AB - Republik *

8/23 Edmonton, AB - Starlite Room *

8/24 Kelowna, BC - Fernando's

12/7 Vancouver, BC - Biltmore Cabaret #

* with Black Mountain
# with Moon Duo