METZ Ready B-sides and Rarities Compilation 'Automat'

Watch a new video for the record's "Pure Auto"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 16, 2019

While METZ are currently at work on their fourth studio album, the Toronto band are set to revisit a host of non-album singles, B-sides and rarities with a new compilation release.

Titled Automat, the 12-track collection arrives July 12 through Sub Pop. Billed as "chronological trip through the lesser known material of METZ," Automat's material dates back to 2009 and also includes long out-of-print early recordings.

"The idea to release Automat came after realizing our early 7-inch singles were being sold online for upwards of $60 bucks a pop," the band's Alex Edkins explained in a statement. "We wanted to make those songs available and affordable to anyone who might want them in the physical format. What started as reissuing a couple of 45s, quickly morphed into an entire LP, compiling rarities, demos and alternate takes from over the years."

All tracks on Automat were remastered by Matthew Barnhart at Chicago Mastering Service. The band have shared a video for B-side "Pure Auto" — helmed by Montreal's Scorpion Dagger — which you can watch below.

Automat is available for pre-order here. Vinyl copies of the album will include a bonus single that features three covers of songs by Sparklehorse, the Urinals and Gary Numan.


1. Soft Whiteout
2. Lump Sums
3. Dry Up
4. Ripped on the Fence
5. Negative Space (7 inch version)
6. Automat
7. Wet Blanket (demo)
8. Dirty Shirt
9. Leave Me Out
10. Can't Understand
11. Pure Auto
12. Eraser

Latest Coverage