Mesa Luna Go Dream Pop on "Feel Nothing"

Hear the premiere of the first single from the upcoming album 'Lash'
Mesa Luna Go Dream Pop on 'Feel Nothing'
Vancouver's Mesa Luna began as a mellow electronic combo, but now they've gone in a more organic direction for their latest release. They've got an album on the way, and Exclaim! has the premiere of the single "Feel Nothing."

The track begins with wobbly synth tones, but it's not long before it goes in a widescreen dream-pop direction with live drums and echoing, fuzzy guitars.

Mesa Luna is fronted by Justic McLellan (of Blue J), who co-produced the song with Jason Corbett from Actors at Vancouver studio Jacknife Sound. It features synths from Kenny William (White Lung), drums from Adam Fink (Actors, Blue J, Art D'ecco), and backup vocals from Elle and Avery O'Brien (Harlequin Gold).

McLellan explained in a statement:

The song is about a person who's relationship is in a repetitive rut and they're trying to communicate to their partner, "Let's get away from this together." The opening line of the song, "If you feel nothing when you hold me in your arms / I wouldn't ask for you to lie," sets the honest tone of a very late night conversation and leads up to the romantic chorus and idea of escaping: "Let's leave this town / Grab your bags and lets go / The sun's coming out."

Listen to the song below. Mesa Luna's debut album Lash will be out on March 22, 2018 via Afterlife Music Ltd.