Merge Releases Christmas Album By Elephant 6 Group the Singing Saws

Merge Releases Christmas Album By Elephant 6 Group the Singing Saws
It’s getting to be that time of year again where the old phrase "Christmas is just around the corner” starts popping up more and more. We know it, you know it and the folks over at Merge know it. That’s why the distinguished indie powerhouse is gearing up for the label’s very first Christmas album, The Singing Saw at Christmastime, by, well, the Singing Saws.

The group are the latest incarnation of Neutral Milk Hotel’s singing-saw man/Music Tapes orchestrator Julian Koster and friend Nesey Gallons, who have recorded their saws over holiday favourites such as "Frosty the Snowman," "O Come All Ye Faithful" and always the party-starter, "Santa Claus is Coming to Town.” According to the duo, saws and Christmas just make sense. "Christ, being by far the most highly regarded and beloved carpenter of all time, was a great friend to the Saws," Koster said in the band’s press release.

Also, the Singing Saws release comes fast on the heels of Koster’s recently released Music Tapes for Clouds and Tornadoes, under his Music Tapes moniker. So, if you’re hankering for a double-dose of Koster these coming holidays, he’s got you covered.

The Singing Saw at Christmastime hits shops on CD, LP and MP3 on October 7. Here is the tracklisting:

1. "The First Noel”
2. "Frosty the Snowman”
3. "Silent Night”
4. "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town”
5. "Jingle Bells”
6. "White Christmas”
7. "Silver Bells”
8. "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
9. "O' Come All Ye Faithful”
10. "O' Holy Night”
11. "O' Little Town Of Bethlehem”
12. "We Wish You A Merry Christmas”

Julian Koster "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town”