​Members of Imaginary Cities, Leaf Rapids, Begonia Announce Debut Album as Middle of Nowhere

Watch the video for their debut track "Then I Find You"

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Apr 24, 2018

A number of Manitoba's finest local musicians have teamed up to form a new band by the name of Middle of Nowhere. They'll release their self-titled debut album on May 1.
The group consists of Rusty Matyas (Imaginary Cities), Keri Latimer (Leaf Rapids), Alexa Dirks (Begonia), Grant Davidson (Slow Leaves) and JP Hoe, and fittingly enough, they teamed up to write and record the album in a cabin in — you guessed it — the middle of nowhere (or Falcon Lake, MB, to be exact).
Matyas produced the nine-track record, and you can see the full tracklisting down below.
The first preview of the album arrives with the video premiere of opening track "Then I Find You." The clip was recorded at the very cabin where Middle of Nowhere was made, and was directed by Chris Gaudry.
"For the video, we went through three or four different elaborate treatment ideas, full of actors and settings of different kinds," Matyas tells Exclaim! "In the end, we decided to go back to the cabin where we recorded the album. We're all such good friends, and thought the no-frills approach would reflect the record more appropriately. We were flying by the seat of our pants when me made the record, all parts and takes were very spontaneous. The goal was simply to make new music in a beautiful setting with some of my favourite people, so we did that for the video too!"
Check out the final product below.
The band will play an already sold-out debut show at Winnipeg's Park Theatre on June 1, though they're also expected to announce additional tour dates soon.
Middle of Nowhere:
1. Then I Find You
2. Can't Afford to Be
3. Hang on to Me
4. Let me Down
5. Sinking Down
6. Super Grande
7. Said and Done
8. Windblown
9. When You Get In

Latest Coverage