Melvins' Buzz Osborne Announces Acoustic Solo LP 'This Machine Kills Artists'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Mar 18, 2014

After spending more than 30 years sludging it up with his Melvins bandmates, Buzz Osborne is dialling down the distortion for his first-ever solo LP, an acoustic affair dubbed This Machine Kills Artists. The prolific grunge icon's debut album arrives June 3 through Ipecac.

The 17-song album, whose title is a nod to folk figure Woodie Guthrie's "This Machine Kills Fascists" slogan, follows a tour-only 10-inch that King Buzzo has been hocking on his current stretch of solo tour dates. Four of the songs from the Amphetamine Reptile-backed release re-appear on the upcoming LP, including opener "Dark Brown Teeth," which you can hear down below courtesy of Rolling Stone.

If you were expecting Osborne's dip into acoustic tones to transform him into a soft rock-styled singer-songwriter, shame on you. According to the artist, he's still going against the grain with the release.

"I have no interest in sounding like a crappy version of James Taylor or a half-assed version of Woody Guthrie," Osborne said in a statement, adding, "which is what happens when almost every rock and roller straps on an acoustic guitar. No thanks... This Machine Kills Artists is a different kind of animal."

Down below, you'll find the tracklisting info for the full-length This Machine Kills Artists and King Buzzo's remaining solo tour dates.

This Machine Kills Artists:

1. Dark Brown Teeth
2. Rough Democracy
3. Laid Back Walking
4. Drunken Baby
5. Vaulting Over A Microphone
6. New River
7. The Vulgar Joke
8. Everything's Easy For You
9. The Ripping Driving
10. How I Became Offensive
11. Instrument of God
12. The Spoiled Brat
13. Illegal Mona
14. Good and Hostile
15. The Blithering Idiot
16. Useless King of the Punks
17. The Hesitation Twist

Tour dates:

3/20 Louisville, KY - Zanzabar
3/21 Indianapolis, IN - Radio Radio
3/22 Chicago, IL - Beat Kitchen
3/23 Madison, WI - High Noon Saloon

Latest Coverage