Lust for Youth Reveal 'International'

Lust for Youth Reveal 'International'
Swedish musician Hannes Norrvide's Lust for Youth project is becoming increasingly prolific, having just announced their fourth full-length since 2010, International. Marking their second set for Sacred Bones, it arrives June 10.

A press release explains that this latest LP veers off into a new direction and finds Norrvide wokring in a three-piece set-up that includes longtime live collaborator Loke Rahbek and new band inductee Malthe Fisher, who contributed production and guitar duties. While previous worked had scoured darker sonic territories, this latest full-length is said to be "a buoyant synth masterpiece," which recalls Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and New Order.

"The record sort of happened by chance," Rahbek explained in a statement of making International. "Hannes and I had talked about recording some stuff together for the fun of it, and Malthe offered to help us record. Initially, we were just going to do a song or two, but within a few weeks it was obvious that it was a combination that worked. The period was strange, terrible things happened in everyone's life outside of the studio, so as a result many hours were spent in the studio, like a safe zone."

According to Rahbek, the song cycle weighs in on "the rootless, sometimes almost inhuman, nature of travelling and touring." You can check out the shimmering "Epoetin Alfa," which also features guest guitar work from Iceage's Elias Bender Rønnenfelt, down below, where you'll also find a tracklisting.

While the album proper features 10 new tracks, a deluxe edition of the set will come with a bonus EP, either on cassette or digitally, containing remixes served up by Silent Servant, Total Control, Helm, Chelsea Wolfe, Cult of Youth and more.


1. Epoetin Alfa

2. Illume

3. Ultras

4. New Boys

5. Lungomare

6. Armida

7. After Touch

8. Basorexia

9. Running

10. International