Lorn Teams Up with Ninja Tune for 'Ask the Dust'

Lorn Teams Up with Ninja Tune for 'Ask the Dust'
Things are on the up and up for Wisconsin beatmaker Lorn, who got himself signed to one of the world's premiere electronic labels, Ninja Tune. Now that he has the record company in his corner, he will release the album Ask the Dust on June 19.

The album is named after the 1939 novel by John Fante, and according to a press release, it conveys an "intensely felt, visceral aliveness." Three of the 12 tracks feature live drumming, and Lorn said in a statement that Ask the Dust is "haunted, oily, smeared" in comparison with his "cold and strict" past work.

Lorn's vocals are featured more prominently on this collection, and he dabbles in sounds like "glitched-out soul music" and "spectral choirs with explosive drumming," and even makes "a soundtrack to being buried alive."

Download the album track "Ghosst" right here in exchange for an email address. "Chhurch" is also streaming at the bottom of this page.

In addition to a CD, double-LP and digital version, the album will be released in a limited run of 30 reel-to-reel tapes, which come with a CD, prints and drawings.

Ask the Dust:

1. Mercy
2. Ghosst
3. Weigh Me Down
4. This
5. Diamond
6. Everything Is Violence
7. The Well
8. The Gun
9. Dead Dogs
10. Chhurch
11. I Better
12. Ghosst(s)