Loney Dear Delves into 'Hall Music' on LP

Loney Dear Delves into 'Hall Music' on LP
The last time Loney Dear released an album, 2009's Dear John, the Swedish multi-instrumentalist underwent a major career change when he dropped the comma from his name and left Sub Pop for Polyvinyl. This time, songwriter Emil Svanangen is staying put: on October 4, he will release Hall Music, his second album for Polyvinyl (and sixth overall).

A press release describes the collection as a "a short album with a tall vision." This means lots of ornate instrumentation, which was inspired by Svanangen's recent tours with orchestras in Sweden. The record reportedly "finds Svanangen finally creating the type of orchestral music he has always sought to bring to life on stage (whether he's actually playing with an orchestra or not)."

The 11 tracks clock in at just over 30 minutes and Svanangen said that they occupy the "perfect position just in between joy and darkness."

You can download the twinkling, expansive single "My Heart" here in exchange for an email address. An intimate piano version of "Young Hearts" is embedded at the bottom of this page.

Hall Music:

1. "Name"
2. "My Heart"
3. "Loney Blues"
4. "Calm Down"
5. "Maria, Is That You"
6. "D Major"
7. "Largo"
8. "Young Hearts"
9. "Durmoll"
10. "I Dreamed About You"
11 "What Have I Become?"

Loney dear - Young Hearts from Loney dear on Vimeo.