Lavender Diamond Return with 'Incorruptible Heart'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jun 27, 2012

It's been a full five years since L.A. indie folk pop outfit Lavender Diamond dropped their debut disc Imagine Our Love, but the group are finally ready to issue a follow-up. The quartet's sophomore set Incorruptible Heart will be issued September 25 through Paracadute.

Written over a two-year stretch, the 12-song album was recorded with OK Go's Damian Kulash, Jr., and Flaming Lips collaborator Dave Fridmann at the latter's upstate New York headquarters. On top of sonic contributions from the quartet, the record is spiked with string-work from the Calder Quartet and some horn-tootling from Probyn Gregory. M. Ward also stops by to sling six-string licks on "Perfect Love."

Incorruptible Heart is said to toy with electro-pop on "Light My Way," and apparently adds operatic touches to "All the Stars." You can sample the piano-centred first single "Oh My Beautiful World" down below.

Despite Lavender Diamond's serious downtime, singer Becky Stark has spent the last few years performing with She & Him and the Decemberists, among others, and was featured on one of John C. Reilly's Third Man Records singles last year.

Lavender Diamond are expected to announce North American tour dates in support of Incorruptible Heart soon.

Incorruptible Heart:

1. Everybody's Heart's Breaking Now
2. Dragonfly
3. I Don't Recall
4. Just Passing By
5. Teach Me How to Waken
6. Come Home
7. Forgive
8. Light My Way
9. Oh My Beautiful World
10. Perfect Love
11. Everybody's Song
12. All The Stars

Latest Coverage