Laraaji Readies New Album 'Moon Piano'

It's a companion piece to this year's 'Sun Piano'
Laraaji Readies New Album 'Moon Piano'
Having already shared his Sun Piano album this year, Laraaji has now announced a companion album. The ambient legend will release the fittingly titled Moon Piano on October 9 through All Saints Records.

Like Sun Piano, the 10-song Moon Piano was recorded over a single session in a Brooklyn church with engineer Jeff Zeigler (Kurt Vile, War on Drugs, Mary Lattimore). While the former LP explored more uplifting composition, Moon Piano is said to capture more introspective and minimal pieces by comparison.

The label explains that the church's facilities were still in use while Laraaji was recording, leaving "chair scrapes, door slams and the breathing of the pianist...all audible" and treated minimally to preserve "the full dynamic range and authentic spirit of the session."

Moon Piano opener "Prana Light" can be heard in the player below. Read Exclaim!'s 8/10 review of Sun Piano.

Moon Piano:

1. Prana Light
2. Stillness
3. Lightly
4. Quiet Journey
5. Through This Moment
6. Bathed In A Glow
7. Pentatonic Smile
8. Feeling Lovely
9. Trance Gaze Pt 1
10. Trance Gaze Pt 2