Kuato Announce Debut LP: 'The Great Upheaval'

Kuato Announce Debut LP: 'The Great Upheaval'
Kuato's Bandcamp page includes bite-sized releases dating back to 2010, but the Halifax post-rock outfit haven't yet released a proper full-length. That will change on June 24 when they issue The Great Upheaval via Acadian Embassy.

The album's title and song names were inspired by the expulsion of the Acadians in 1755. This was when the British forced the Acadian people to leave North America's Maritime region.

It was recorded with Diego Medina (Matt Mays, Dusted, Shotgun Jimmie) at the Old Confidence Lodge in Riverport, NS. A press release notes that the resulting seven songs are "sprawling instrumental, psychedelic, post-rock soundscapes."

Below, watch a video for the dramatically slow-paced album cut "Groundwork." It was directed by Jeff Miller and Adam Toth and centres around a threatening backwoods conflict.

The band will be touring this summer, but dates have yet to be confirmed. In the meantime, the album is available to pre-order digitally or on CD or vinyl here.

The Great Upheaval:

1. New Home
2. Groundwork
3. Red Sand
4. Black Horizon
5. Ripped From the Soil
6. Battle of Bloody Creek
7. The Great Upheaval