King Khan & the Shrines Unveil 'Idle No More'

King Khan & the Shrines Unveil 'Idle No More'
King Khan & the Shrines recently announced they had signed up with Merge Records to deliver their first LP in six years, and the band have now given the LP a name and a due date. Titled Idle No More, it drops September 3.

While a tracklisting has yet to be revealed, a press release notes that the album is full of "sweat-drenched, ass-shaking, groovy, psyched-out numbers." It's the first proper LP from the crew since 2007's What Is?!, and it apparently takes influence from Roky Erickson, the Sun Ra Arkestra, Wilson Pickett, the Velvet Underground, and the spirit of the Idle No More movement.

"It has been a lengthy hiatus, but we have finally finished our latest 'masterpiece' and named it after an incredible indigenous-rights movement that is happening right now called Idle No More," Khan explained in a statement. "I was born and raised in Montreal and spent a lot of time on the Kahnawake Mohawk Indian reservation. Much of my juvenile delinquent training came from years of tripping out there with my best friends."

The raucous rocker also said that song cycle is about "the state of the world we live in today," while noting that it's "probably the most refined piece of music we have made to date."

Despite the lack of a tracklisting, it seems like the Shrines' previously released "Bite My Tongue" single will figure on the set somewhere. You can sample the video down below and peep the caricature-styled album art for Idle No More up above.

UPDATE: You can now see the tracklist below.

Idle No More:

1. Born to Die
2. Bite My Tongue
3. Thorn in Her Pride
4. Luckiest Man
5. Better Luck Next Time
6. Darkness
7. Pray for Lil
8. Bad Boy
9. So Wild
10. Yes I Can't
11. I Got Made
12. Of Madness I Dream