Julian Lynch Unveils 'Lines' LP

Julian Lynch Unveils 'Lines' LP
Julian Lynch is currently pursuing a PhD in anthropology and ethnomusicology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, but he hasn't let his academic pursuits get in the way of his music. Having made his Underwater Peoples debut with Terra in 2011, the New Jersey-raised experimentalist will drop Lines on March 26 through the same label.

This 10-song collection is Lynch's fourth full-length. According to a press release, "Lynch builds Lines upon musically complex and thoughtful compositions without abandoning the accessibility, nuanced timbres, and vivid instrumentation found on his first three LPs."

The disc was recorded on eight-track cassette in his Madison apartment, and the arrangements are heavy on clarinet and Moog synthesizer.

Lynch's tour schedule currently consists of a single show in Minneapolis next month. See his very limited itinerary below the tracklist. The cover artwork is above.


1. Going
2. Carios kelleyi I
3. Horse Chestnut
4. Yawning
5. Lines
6. North Line
7. Carios kelleyi II
8. Gloves
9. Onions
10. Shadow

Tour dates:

2/23 Minneapolis, MN - Icehouse *   

* with Web of Sunsets, DJ Soft Abuse