Jon Brion Reveals 'ParaNorman' Soundtrack Details

Jon Brion Reveals 'ParaNorman' Soundtrack Details
It's been over a year since we learned that producer extraordinaire Jon Brion (Best Coast, Fiona Apple, Kanye West) was working on the score for 3D stop-motion children's comedy ParaNorman. Well, the film, about a boy attempting to save his town from a zombie attack, hits theatres August 17. You can hear Brion's music a little early, though, when ParaNorman's soundtrack hits retailers August 14 through Relativity Music Group.

You can get an idea of the flick's playfully symphonic soundtrack in the trailer, which also features a snippet of Donovan's "Season of the Witch" and a nod to John Carpenter's original Halloween soundtrack, down below.

On top of his Brion's studio work with bands like Of Montreal and Spoon, his soundtrack work includes Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless MindMagnolia and Punch-Drunk Love, among others.

The animated film, meanwhile, features the voice talents of John Goodman, Anna Kendrick, Leslie Mann, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Casey Affleck, and more.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.


1. Zombie Attack in the Eighties

2. Norman at the Piano/Main Title

3. Norman's Walk

4. Alvin Attacks

5. Enter Neil/Mr P/Ghost Walk/Ghost Dog

6. Goodbye Mr P/Historic Drama/Grounded/Heavy Visitation

7. Alvin Again/Scary Bedroom

8. Norman Tries to Keep It Cool/ Grandma's Got Your Back
9. Moth Rock

10. The Dead Shall Be Raised

11. Zombies Attack

12. People Attack

13. Are We There Yet?

14. Aggie Fights

15. Resolution

16. Oh, and One More Thing