James Vincent McMorrow Gets Nineteen85, Frank Dukes for 'We Move,' Shares "Rising Water"

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Jul 5, 2016

James Vincent McMorrow is living in a post-Post Tropical world, having just announced his follow-up record to that 2014 release. Titled We Move, the Irish singer-songwriter's third full-length release is due September 2 via Dine Alone Records.

A press release explains that work on We Move started shortly after he wrapped promo behind Post Tropical, but that didn't mean McMorrow got off the road. His personal travels took him through Spain, Canada, the UK and the U.S., with recording sessions later taking place in Toronto, London and Dublin.

Of the direction of this latest LP, McMorrow revealed in a statement that he "grew up wanting to write songs like Neil Young but produce them like the Neptunes." Helping him accomplish this in the studio were producers Nineteen85 (Drake, dvsn), Two Inch Punch (Sam Smith) and Frank Dukes (Kanye West, Rihanna) .

On the lyrical front, the 10-song collection is said to be "about celebrating mental fragility," acting as a look into anxiety and "social unease." McMorrow noted that listeners may have a misconception on how he produces his work, "believing that I'm out in the forest all day long, thinking about trees."

He adds: "I'm actually at home, trying to convince myself to go out and get milk."

Below, you'll find full tracklisting info for We Move, a lyric video for the record's newly revealed "Rising Water," and some info on an upcoming run of Canadian tour dates.

We Move:

1. Rising Water
2. I Lie Awake Every Night
3. Last Story
4. One Thousand Times
5. Evil
6. Get Low
7. Killer Whales
8. Seek Another
9. Surreal
10. Lost Angles

Tour dates:

11/12 Montreal, QC - Corona Theatre
11/14 Toronto, ON - Phoenix Concert Theatre
11/19 Winnipeg, MB - Park Theatre
11/21 Edmonton, AB - The Winspear Centre
11/22 Calgary, AB - Jack Singer Concert Hall
11/24 Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom
11/25 Victoria, BC - Alix Goolden Hall

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage