Hoax to Self-Release Debut Album This Week

Hoax to Self-Release Debut Album This Week
Notorious Western Massachusetts hardcore act Hoax have risen to prominence thanks to their assaulting EPs and absurdly violent live shows. Now, however, they'll take the next step in their career, releasing their debut album this week.

Following releases on reputable imprints like Youth Attack, Katorga Works, Deranged and others, the self-titled album will be self-released by the band this week. As of tomorrow (August 21), you'll be able to order it here.

Over on the band's blog, they shared a writeup for the album, which describes it as "a new standard in DIY hardcore punk," adding they've taken "their pummeling, mid-tempo sound and expanding it into something far sicker and hideous, they have leveled the horizon with a brand new series of anthems."

The album was recorded with former Orchid/Ampere member Will Killingsworth, and features an introduction from Pharmakon.

The LP's album art features six double-sided poster inserts, with art contributed from venerable punk artists Cali DeWitt, Mark McCoy, Matt Adis, Shaun Fillley, Sugi, Heather Benjamin, Sam Ryser, Emma Kohlmann, Guillem El Muro, Alex Heir, Colin Swanson-White, Jaybo Gardner, and Tony Pasquarosa.

Before the punks crash their online store tomorrow, you can check out Hoax album tracks "Anesthetize" and "Hide" below, both of which indicate that the band haven't lost any of their edge.