High Llamas Adapt 'Here Come the Rattling Trees' Theatre Piece into New Album

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Nov 4, 2015

High Llamas mastermind Sean O'Hagan has adapted a recent characters-loaded theatre piece into a new studio album from his longtime pop project. The result is Here Come the Rattling Trees, and it arrives January 22 via Drag City.

The record, High Llamas' first since 2011's Talahomi Way, is described in a press release as "reshaped theatre," an intertwined series of character-driven narratives set to new music from the group. The fully realized piece was first performed at Peckham, UK venue the Montpelier Theatre in June 2014, and was later brought to London's Tristan Bates Theatre for a week-long run.

Said to weigh in on "the low-key highs and lows of the British working week," the album's central character is Amy, "an unsettled 28-year-old with a desire to travel." The song cycle is said to present stories about management changes at her office, and the various people she meets in her day-to-day.

On the sonic side of things, the album apparently delivers "a colourful array of electric, acoustic, and synthetic instruments." You can hear the organ-soaked, smooth '70s-era pop of Here Come the Rattling Trees' title track below, where you'll also find the rest of the song info.

Here Come the Rattling Trees: 

1. Prelude
2. Amy Recalls
3. Here Come the Rattling Trees
4. Runner Recalls
5. Bramble Underscore
6. Bramble Black
7. Mona Underscore
8. Mona's Song
9. Decorator Recalls
10. McKain Underscore
11. McKain James
12. Plumber Recalls
13. Livorno Underscore
14. Livorno
15. Jackie Underscore
16. Jackie

Latest Coverage